Firing through Light and Heavy Woods

Issues with the game engine (not campaign)

Moderators: BeeRockxs, Moderators

Post Reply
Holden Tao Jones
Posts: 6
Joined: Sun Oct 21, 2018 2:40 am

Firing through Light and Heavy Woods

Post by Holden Tao Jones » Mon Nov 26, 2018 11:51 pm

Sarna CBT tables state that there is a +1 modifier PER hex of intervening Light Woods and a +2 modifier PER hex of intervening Heavy Woods.
This rule is not being applied correctly by the game engine.

TigerShark
Mekwars Server Operator
Posts: 710
Joined: Wed Feb 24, 2010 8:28 am

Re: Firing through Light and Heavy Woods

Post by TigerShark » Tue Nov 27, 2018 12:03 am

Can you give a visual example? I've found this to be working.

FYI - Active Probes remove a single +1 to a minimum penalty of +0. Also, when drawing a line through LOS, it may LOOK like it should be counted, but the ruler determines whether it "counts."


Holden Tao Jones
Posts: 6
Joined: Sun Oct 21, 2018 2:40 am

Re: Firing through Light and Heavy Woods

Post by Holden Tao Jones » Tue Nov 27, 2018 12:37 am

So, to give an example, if a unit is standing in light woods, and there are two light woods hexes between him and another unit, then there is a total +3 modifier to hit him, caused by the woods.

Tuco
MegamekNET Campaign Operator
Posts: 2816
Joined: Wed Feb 13, 2008 10:23 pm

Re: Firing through Light and Heavy Woods

Post by Tuco » Tue Nov 27, 2018 8:46 am

The Wood Hex a unit is occupying is not an intervening Wood Hex and thus does not count as "firing through".
When the injustice is great enough, Justice will lend me the strength needed to correct it.
None may stand against it.
It will shatter every barrier, sunder any shield, tear through any enchantment and lend its servant the power to pass sentence.
Know this: there is nothing on all the Planes that can stay the hand of justice when it is brought against them.
It may unmake armies. It may sunder the thrones of gods.
Know that for ALL who betray Justice, I am their fate... and fate carries an Executioner's Axe.

Holden Tao Jones
Posts: 6
Joined: Sun Oct 21, 2018 2:40 am

Re: Firing through Light and Heavy Woods

Post by Holden Tao Jones » Thu Nov 29, 2018 7:11 pm

Capture.PNG
Capture.PNG (1.05 MiB) Viewed 176 times

TigerShark
Mekwars Server Operator
Posts: 710
Joined: Wed Feb 24, 2010 8:28 am

Re: Firing through Light and Heavy Woods

Post by TigerShark » Thu Nov 29, 2018 7:19 pm

There is only one woods hex in-between the field gunners and the target.

You count the woods the target is standing in, and the woods hex in front of it. The field gunners are at a higher elevation (elevation 2) and are 1 hex tall. When you draw a line from their position to the 'Mech, it isn't going through all three woods hexes since it's above them; just the one directly in front of the target.

It would be the same if a 'Mech were standing on the elevation 1 hex in front of the field gunners and firing at the same target, since a 'Mech is 2 levels high. If the field gunners or a 'Mech were standing on an elevation 0 hex, you'd have no line-of-sight at all, since all three woods would be in your way.

This is working as-intended.

Post Reply