Static maps using terrain.xml

Issues with the server software (not campaign)

Moderators: Torren, Moderators

Post Reply
Ravage
Mekwars Server Operator
Posts: 138
Joined: Sun Feb 17, 2008 3:02 am

Static maps using terrain.xml

Post by Ravage » Mon Dec 04, 2017 9:34 am

Has anyone gotten static maps to work properly at all?

If so how'd you manage it?

Ravage
Mekwars Server Operator
Posts: 138
Joined: Sun Feb 17, 2008 3:02 am

Re: Static maps using terrain.xml

Post by Ravage » Mon Dec 04, 2017 9:45 am

This is an example of a terrain segment from the terrain.xml:

<TERRAIN>
<NAME>City Block A</NAME>
<ENVIRONMENT>
<STATICMAP>TRUE</STATICMAP>
<MAPNAME>32x32 City Block A.board</MAPNAME>
<XMAP>1</XMAP>
<YMAP>1</YMAP>
<XBOARD>32</XBOARD>
<YBOARD>32</YBOARD>
</ENVIRONMENT>
</TERRAIN>

The boards/mapname is correct.

Even assigning a planet with just 100% of this terrian type still makes it generate a random map from the same board size.

Now we have tried with "use static maps" in the server options both checked and unchecked, but still randomly chooses map based on the size.

Any ideas how to correctly implement this? Or is there a bug

Spork
Mekwars Developer
Posts: 3868
Joined: Wed Feb 13, 2008 10:23 pm

Re: Static maps using terrain.xml

Post by Spork » Mon Dec 04, 2017 7:49 pm

I will have to look into this - I've never used static maps at all.
Never had much, grew up with nothing
But the music, well it was something
Been down and out, I've been on top of the world,
World that keeps on spinning on a turntable.

Ravage
Mekwars Server Operator
Posts: 138
Joined: Sun Feb 17, 2008 3:02 am

Re: Static maps using terrain.xml

Post by Ravage » Mon Dec 04, 2017 9:23 pm

Cheers spork. I tried pulling out an old copy of 4.0.7 but vertigo editor just doesn't wanna work so I couldn't really test it properly.

Post Reply