Page 1 of 1

Changing faction color in map

Posted: Wed Feb 13, 2019 8:24 am
by omothes
Hi all,

I hope this is the right subforum.
I'm about to set up a small MekWars server for playing with my friends. After working through the available tutorials and files nearly everything is working fine. I also added a looooot of planets from the sarna excel file.

One thing I haven't found yet is the possibility to change the faction color in the inner sphere map (Liao = white?!). Where can I change this?
It would be great if the map uses the same colors set up in the factions.xml.

Cheers,
Olli

Re: Changing faction color in map

Posted: Wed Feb 13, 2019 11:53 am
by Ironboot
viewtopic.php?f=7&t=7873&p=55994&hilit= ... lor#p55994


Liao green is guess and test. As some point the server goes from green to white.

Re: Changing faction color in map

Posted: Wed Feb 13, 2019 1:10 pm
by omothes
Thanks, but...
You are not authorised to read this forum.

Re: Changing faction color in map

Posted: Wed Feb 13, 2019 6:24 pm
by TigerShark
I believe the command is /factioncolor or /housecolor (I'm not at home to check).

Re: Changing faction color in map

Posted: Wed Feb 13, 2019 7:45 pm
by Ironboot
Doh!

I'm sorry..

From that post...

"MekWars is just very picky with colors.

Couple things that I have used to rectify it.

1 - Check the darken map box in the client config. Sometimes that helps
2 - Trial and error to find the colors that work. For some reason hex triples with 3 different sets work the best. FF3300 for example.

I use this website to pick the colors at first, then work around until I find ones that work. http://html-color-codes.com/"


"From Spork in that post...

If something is too dark (and I'm not sure what the cutoff is, off the top of my head), the server will use white instead, so the planets are visible.

I know, I know. I didn't write that code. I figure if you want an almost black planet, you should have it, rather than the server deciding something different for you. It's never been terribly important to me to fix, though."


I hope that will get you started. :)

Re: Changing faction color in map

Posted: Wed Feb 13, 2019 8:22 pm
by Tuco
/c changehousecolor#faction#htmlhexcolor

Re: Changing faction color in map

Posted: Wed Feb 13, 2019 9:21 pm
by TigerShark
Yeah... That lol

Re: Changing faction color in map

Posted: Thu Feb 14, 2019 7:57 am
by omothes
Tuco wrote:
Wed Feb 13, 2019 8:22 pm
/c changehousecolor#faction#htmlhexcolor
Tried that already. But I will follow hint that MW is picky regarding the colorcodes.
Do I have to change the color with the /c changehousecolor command or is it enough to change it in the factions.xml (why is there a color tag if we can't use it ;) )?

Edit:
Allright, got it. I changed <color> and <houseplayercolor> in the factions.xml, reset the campaign and everything ist fine. seems like factions.xml will only be read once at start of a campaign, like planets.xml.

Re: Changing faction color in map

Posted: Thu Feb 14, 2019 2:40 pm
by Padraig Tseng
omothes wrote:
Thu Feb 14, 2019 7:57 am
Tuco wrote:
Wed Feb 13, 2019 8:22 pm
/c changehousecolor#faction#htmlhexcolor
Tried that already. But I will follow hint that MW is picky regarding the colorcodes.
Do I have to change the color with the /c changehousecolor command or is it enough to change it in the factions.xml (why is there a color tag if we can't use it ;) )?

Edit:
Allright, got it. I changed <color> and <houseplayercolor> in the factions.xml, reset the campaign and everything ist fine. seems like factions.xml will only be read once at start of a campaign, like planets.xml.
you should be using the GUI and command line....editing stuff by hand is a recipe for breaking things.....

Also, after using the change color command, you will not see it update unless you log out and back in again....or restart the server....

Re: Changing faction color in map

Posted: Thu Feb 14, 2019 3:33 pm
by omothes
Padraig Tseng wrote:
Thu Feb 14, 2019 2:40 pm

you should be using the GUI and command line....editing stuff by hand is a recipe for breaking things.....
And set up everything from scratch when I reset the server/campaign? That shouldn't be the goal.

There are a few more things that work a bit unlogically.
e.g. Factories set up in planets.xml appear in the "Map", but not in "Faction Status". Only if you "purchase factory" from the menu on the same planet, the others appear (but not the purchased one).
So I edit the source file (planets.xml) to reuse it again after I have completly set up the server, to create a clean universe with all my settings...but then I have to do manually work to apply the settings I made (in the xml).

edit:
restartet the machine where the server is running on, deleted the old "campaigns" folder, used a complete new user -> everything fine from the start. planet ownership (was another problem before), factories, faction status -> everything the way it should be

Re: Changing faction color in map

Posted: Thu Feb 14, 2019 11:53 pm
by Padraig Tseng
omothes wrote:
Thu Feb 14, 2019 3:33 pm
Padraig Tseng wrote:
Thu Feb 14, 2019 2:40 pm

you should be using the GUI and command line....editing stuff by hand is a recipe for breaking things.....
And set up everything from scratch when I reset the server/campaign? That shouldn't be the goal.

There are a few more things that work a bit unlogically.
e.g. Factories set up in planets.xml appear in the "Map", but not in "Faction Status". Only if you "purchase factory" from the menu on the same planet, the others appear (but not the purchased one).
So I edit the source file (planets.xml) to reuse it again after I have completly set up the server, to create a clean universe with all my settings...but then I have to do manually work to apply the settings I made (in the xml).

edit:
restartet the machine where the server is running on, deleted the old "campaigns" folder, used a complete new user -> everything fine from the start. planet ownership (was another problem before), factories, faction status -> everything the way it should be
Keep a backup copy of the planets and factions folders and just drop them in when you reset the server.

Re: Changing faction color in map

Posted: Mon Feb 18, 2019 3:52 am
by Spork
I disagree. I think you should get your XMLs the way you want the campaign to begin.

That being said, we almost never revert to them, but it's better if you are able.

Re: Changing faction color in map

Posted: Thu Mar 21, 2019 7:03 pm
by Ajax
Go to bed, m8. No tech talk after 0200.

Re: Changing faction color in map

Posted: Wed Jun 26, 2019 10:31 am
by omothes
Color problem was solved. You can only use websafe colors.

I modified my XML regarding to this and everything works fine.


Could someone please add me to the Server Operator Forum? I have some questions about auto updating the clients and hope to find answers there,
thanks :)

Re: Changing faction color in map

Posted: Wed Jun 26, 2019 10:14 pm
by Tuco
Done.